SCPL Best of 2020 – Picture Books

We’re back with more of our Best of 2020 selections of fabulous books for this year!  Today, we are sharing 7 of our very favorite picture books for kids.  But don’t just think picture books are just for kids.  They can teach lessons to adults as well and plus, they are just fun to read.  Check out these leading titles from this year today with your Evergreen Indiana library card.  We’ll be happy to set up a curbside pickup appointment for you at any of our 3 locations.  Just give us a call at 812-752-2751.

 

 

Catch That Chicken

Atinkuke

Summary:

Lami is the best chicken catcher in the whole village. Her sister may be speedy at spelling, her friend fast at braiding hair, and her brother brave with bulls, but when it comes to chickens, nobody is faster or braver than Lami. That is, until the day when Lami chases a little too fast, up the baobab tree, and reaches a little too far…ow!

How can she catch chickens with an ankle that’s puffed up like an angry lizard? Could it be, as Nana Nadia says, that quick thinking is more important than quick running? Award-winning author Atinuke celebrates Nigerian village life in a story vibrantly illustrated by Angela Brooksbank with a universal message at its heart.  — Goodreads.com

 

 

Old Rock (Is Not Boring

Deb Pilutti

Summary:

Quirky charm infuses this tale of Old Rock’s life story, which is much more exciting than you’d expect.

Old Rock has been sitting in the same spot in the pine forest for as long as anyone can remember. Spotted Beetle, Tall Pine, and Hummingbird think just sitting there must be boring, but they are in for a wonderful surprise.

Fabulous tales of adventurous travel, exotic scenery, entertaining neighbors, and more from Old Rock’s life prove it has been anything but boring.

Great storytellers come in all shapes, sizes, and ages, and Old Rock’s stories are sure to inspire questions that lead to wonderful conversations about the past and the natural world.  — Goodreads.com

 

 

 

The Box Turtle

Vanessa Roeder

Summary:

Terrance the turtle was born without a shell, so he uses a cardboard box instead. Terrance loves his box. It keeps him dry on soggy days, safe from snooping strangers, and is big enough to cozy up with a friend. But when another turtle points out that Terrance’s shell is, well, weird, he begins to wonder whether there might be a better shell out there…

Eventually, and through much trial and error, Terrance learns that there’s nothing wrong with being different–especially when it comes to being yourself.  — Goodreads.com

 

 

No More Naps!

Chris Grabenstein

Summary:

It’s time for a nap but, just like stubborn toddlers everywhere, Annalise Devin McFleece won’t have anything to do with bedtime. Dad tries to encourage sleepiness by pushing her around the park in her stroller. Along the way, they pass a man sitting on a bench, dog walkers walking dogs, a boy on a skateboard, kids playing ball, a girl practicing her juggling, and others. Each of them thinks that taking a nap is a great idea and if Annalise Devin McFleece doesn’t want hers, they’ll happy take it. And one by one, everyone falls asleep…except Annalise Devin McFleece. But when she’s finally ready for her nap, all the naps are taken! Is there anyone who has an extra nap to spare?  — Goodreads.com

 

 

 

You Matter

Christian Robinson

Summary:

They All Saw a Cat meets The Important Book in this sensitive and impactful picture book about seeing the world from different points of view by Caldecott and Coretta Scott King Honoree Christian Robinson.

In this full, bright, and beautiful picture book, many different perspectives around the world are deftly and empathetically explored—from a pair of bird-watchers to the pigeons they’re feeding. Young readers will be drawn into the luminous illustrations inviting them to engage with the world in a new way and see how everyone is connected, and that everyone matters. — Goodreads.com

 

 

The Three Billy Goats Buenos

Susan Middleton Elya

Summary:

Humor abounds in this masterfully-bilingual twist on The Three Billy Goats Gruff that dares to ask the question: why is that troll so grumpy anyway?

Three little cabritos have a clever plan to get past the grumpiest troll in the land. But then one of the billy goats wonders: Why is that gigante so grumpy, anyway?

This thoughtful question sends their plan in a new direction, and the results are better than they ever imagined.

Dashes of humor, empathy, and kindness make this modern twist on a classic tale a charming delight.  — Goodreads.com

 

 

 

My Teacher is a Robot

Jeffrey Brown

Summary:

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes an imaginative picture book about a kid whose creative outlook has everyone at school seeing the world through new eyes. Perfect for fans of The Adventures of Beekle and The Most Magnificent Thing.

Fred does not want to go to school because it’s boring. Especially since he thinks his teacher is a robot. If only Fred could imagine a way for his day to be more exciting…

An inventively funny picture book that celebrates the boundlessness of a child’s imagination and celebrates the teachers, families, and friends who get wrapped up in their fantastic worlds.  — Goodreads.com

 

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *